Manitoba Métis Federation

The Manitoba Métis Federation (MMF) is the official democratic, federally recognized Government of the Red River Métis. As the Government of the Red River Métis the MMF continues the legacy of the earliest Provisional Government. The Manitoba Métis are Canada’s Negotiating Partner in Confederation and the Founders of the Province of Manitoba.

To protect the rights and interests of the Red River Métis the MMF was incorporated in 1967. Since then, the MMF has grown to nearly 800 staff, (including Affiliates). The MMF promotes, protects and advances the political, social, and economic interests of its Citizens in the Manitoba.

The MMF is organized into seven regional offices (Regions) throughout the province. These are the Interlake, Northwest, Southeast, Southwest, The Pas, Thompson, and Winnipeg Regions. Each Region is administered by an elected Vice-President and two elected Executive Officers. Regional Offices deliver programs and services to Métis Citizens in their Region. In addition to the Regional Offices there are satellite offices (for example Métis Employment and Training) throughout the province. Furthermore, each Region is made up of “Locals” which are administered by a chairperson, a vice-chair, and a secretary treasurer from the surrounding Villages. Citizens belong to Locals.


Field Value
Name Manitoba Métis Federation
Keywords Manitoba, Red River Métis, MMF, Métis, Manitoba Métis Federation
Metadata Creation Date 2022-03-09
Publisher CanWIN
Attribution n/a
Field Value
Main Contact Manitoba Métis Federation
Type of Name Organizational
Affiliation Manitoba Métis Federation